Wistful thinking

Good Almost-Christmas-Week to you.

I’m feeling more Christmassy leading up to the 25th than I have in some years, and for reasons I can’t quite put my finger on and shan’t try lest I scare off whatever it is. It’s a positive feeling that may have nothing to do with Christmas itself, but it has made me less cranky about the usual panic and trappings of the season. I’ve also eaten a lot of cookies, so that may be it.

Yesterday evening, we decorated our Christmas tree, three of four children and a new boyfriend. The kids went out to a local farm, picked the tree and brought it home, wrapped tight in mesh binding. We stuck the bound tree in the stand and undid the tree corset. The branches sprung out, filling a quarter of the room. This was an anti-Charlie Brown tree if ever there was one.

With our kids getting so big (and the new boyfriend fills some space too), there was barely room for me to get in there to decorate the green monster, so I hung back as they placed the ornaments. The kids laughed at their old homemade creations, including something crafted out of kidney beans, macaroni, sesame seeds and a whole lot of glue. We listened to classic Christmas music without irony and played “remember when” as we finished the tree (which kind of excluded the new boyfriend, come to think of it). It was a warm feeling, but one tinged with a sense that time fleeting, which is probably why we repeat these joyful rituals again and again.

Here’s an audio piece on the idiosyncratic — dare I say twisted — nature of Christmas memories. It’s not new, but that’s the thing about memories: they never get old.

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Holidays, It Really Did Happen!, Turn that radio on! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wistful thinking

  1. Laura Lynn says:

    I, too, am having a wonderful season this year. I don’t know what’s different about it. Better cookies? More liquor? Priecīgus Ziemassvētkus as they say in Latvian.

  2. markbialczak says:

    Enjoy the unexplainable spirit, Ross. It seems to have even made you charitable toward the new boyfriend.

  3. I’m not looking forward to boyfriends and girlfriends taking my place on the couch. I’m relieved we have a few more years before I have to cut my couch into four individual pieces. ;) Merry Christmas!

  4. pinklightsabre says:

    Magic scintillations….

    • rossmurray1 says:

      I should have given you credit on this one, oh inspiring one. Did you see the tag the other day?

      • pinklightsabre says:

        I just saw that tag now! You made me look! But a shockwave flash has crashed, so my computer says. It’s acting like a PC now, which has me concerned. Thanks for that…nutty. Oh inspiring one.

  5. byebyebeer says:

    I’m on a Christmas binge this year and thought it was due to weather (more snow than usual in these parts). Maybe it’s the cookies. Whatever the cause, it’s great. Really enjoyed listening to your Christmas memories…hilarious!

  6. I have my mom living with me now, so the season has been quite different. I’ve done far more retail shopping than ever before, but it has been heartwarming to see the delight on her face when she finds a gift on sale. “It’s two dollars! And look at the lovely box it’s in!” My mom gets so much joy out of the shiny, glittery things and the sales. I’m enjoying that.

  7. benzeknees says:

    I am having the opposite type of Christmas this year. Since I have been sick so much for over a month, there is no baking this year. The tree is up, the lights are on as is the garland, but no ornaments, I had to give up at this point. We won’t be celebrating this year since hubby is unemployed again & my disability benefits have not kicked in, but it’s ok since our kids are all grown up & live far away. We’ll just try to do better next year.

  8. Aussa Lorens says:

    This sounds a lot like the Christmases my family used to have. *sigh* Nostalgia.

Go ahead, don't be shy.

