Drinking the purple accolade

I started this blog last February as a way to expand readership for the weekly humour columns I write for my local paper. Ten months later, that readership has indeed expanded. The way a glacier expands. Leaving destruction in its wake. And pissed off villagers.

I’m just shy of 90 followers at the moment, which is fantastic, even if I’ve never heard from many of those followers again and other new bloggers have gained thousands of followers in the same period. Not that I’m bitter.

But that’s not the point.

At first, I didn’t really know how this works. I just started posting content. I didn’t understand the concept of followers or commenting etiquette or getting Freshly Pressed. My FP moment came in August when I was camping on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. I had no idea that it was proper form to reply to all those comments, not that I could do much anyway on Salt Spring, where Internet service is fuelled by granola and underarm hair. (I don’t even know what that means. Sorry.)

But that’s not the point either.

I’ve also come to realize that what I’m doing isn’t really blogging. I’m posting essays. I’m not baring my soul via the keyboard to the reader but hiding behind the mask of the finished product, whether it’s satirical pieces or stories from my life. Who knows, this may not even be the proper forum for what I’m trying to achieve.

But that’s still not the point.

My point is that this place is awesome. I can’t get over the way I’ve come into contact with so many wonderful, talented people who just love – L-O-V-E! – to write and be read and share their thoughts, and not just because they want to be linked back to or gain followers (see “how this works” above) but because they are truly interested, inquisitive men and women. I’m amazed and humbled by how funny so many of you are; I can’t count the number of times I’ve read something and gone, “Man, I wish I’d written that.”

And that’s the point. Not the number of followers, not getting famous, not the win-the-lottery book deal. It’s doing the writing because we love doing the writing. Creating for the sheer amazement of creation. Getting feedback from peers who appreciate a well-crafted phrase or milk-spewing joke.

So thank you to the lovely Rutabaga (even if she did think I was a woman at first) for presenting me with this Very Inspiring Blogger Award. She is a peach. No, she’s a turnip. Either way, I appreciate the recognition from a fellow writer (an aspiring Canadian to boot!) and the encouragement to keep doing what I’m doing.

(P.S. Unbeknownst to me, Rutabaga touched on many of these same themes in here acceptance speech. Good reading too!)

And so, the award:

very-inspiring

1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Link back to the person/s who nominated you.

3. State 7 things about yourself.

Ah, yes, my secret life…

1. I’m edging up on 50 (say what!) and my love of music goes unabated. The Internet (and headphones at work) has introduced me to more great music over the past decade or so than I could ever have imagined in my so-called youth. One of the finest finds, someone who got me excited and inspired in a way I hadn’t been for a while, is Frank Turner. Ex-punk turned relentlessly touring troubadour, Frank often comes back to the theme of “don’t do it for the fame; just do it.” Sound familiar? Do yourself a favour and check him out.

2. I was the first kid in my class to see Star Wars. That’s as cool as I’ve ever been.

3. One of the great regrets in my life is that I never learned to properly spit. I feel less of a man because of it.

4. I can, though, do a loon call with my hands. Second coolest.

5. In April, I’ll have a second collection of my columns published by Media Trois Canons in Quebec City. Very excited!

6. If I could be any writer, it would probably be Nick Hornby. Equal parts hilarious and compassionate. Or maybe Kurt Vonnegut. Or Douglas Adams. Or E.M. Forster. Or…

7. When we met in a bar, the first words my future wife said to me were “Get the fuck out of my way.” I was smitten.

Next: nominate other bloggers and link to them. Not sure if these folks are already laden with accolades but what’s 0ne more?

Creative Liar: Open-heart hilarity.

Thoughts of a Lunatic: She burnt her crotch and wrote about it. Next!

The Camel Life: Fellow Nova Scotian living in Toronto. Breezy by name, breezy by nature.

Glory of Zig: One funny foodie. He needs to write more, so let’s show him some love!

The Fur Flies: Another Canuck. Anything goes here, including nasty foot photos!

Scribbles: Just a sweetie.

Doggy’s Style: The kind of blogger I’d like to have a drink with. If I still drank.

Peachy Teachy: She’s a teacher dealing with everything that implies. Give her a blog-hug!

That’s it for the love-in. Back to my sarcastic self next time!

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Awards, Reading? Ugh! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Drinking the purple accolade

  1. the_lunatic says:

    I’m sure glad my crotch is getting love … in some form. My blisters (and I) say thank you!

  2. javaj240 says:

    I think it, you write it.. well, maybe not; I wouldn’t even consider powering anything using granola and underarm hair. But, doing this because you love doing it — I couldn’t agree more. I just gained a new follower yesterday, which brings me to about 150, but that’s not really the point, is it? Most of them don’t actually read what I write on anything like a consistent basis, nor do they comment. There’s a handful that do both. That’s satisfying. And, I feel connected to those folks somehow.

    I will definitely check out the blogs you nominated that I don’t already follow. Thanks for the recommendations!

  3. awwwwwwwwwwww – I’m sorry I thought you were a Rosemurry 🙂 – but you’re the nicest Rosemary guy I’ve even encountered.

    I still don’t know if I have a point to my writing – I just like to do it so I think that will suffice. Congrats on getting yourself published for a second time. That’s damn freakin’ cool.

  4. rossmurray1 says:

    …or Dave Sedaris or Calvin Trillin or E.B. White or…

  5. peachyteachy says:

    Big old super-ditto on so much of what you wrote. I had this sort of idea that maybe by the time I had written 100 posts, I would clear 100 followers—cleared the 100 posts; also nearing 90 followers. That goal was more of a guideline (we all know what a master of resolutions I am). I’m still pretty sure that I don’t know shit about this blogging biz, and I love my little inner circle who make me laugh and sometimes get a kick out of my stuff as well. Thanks for the nod; I appreciate it!

  6. El Guapo says:

    Congratulations!
    Mostly, it’s the trading stories I enjoy.

    Off to check out the blogs I don’t know…

  7. Congratulations! keep up the good work, great stuff here!

  8. Kylie says:

    Oh! I like you!!

    P.S. I never learned to snap properly. Or whistle.

  9. Pingback: Very Inspiring Non-Canadian Blogger Award Recipient Sings “Oh, Canada!” « peachyteachy

  10. Ziggy Smallz says:

    Thanks Rosst in Space! This is the coolest! This week I plan to write a post about it. Also, I plan on burning my crotch. On another note, whatchu know about Halifax, which is where my fiance dreams of moving in 5 years, even though we’ve never been there? Does it have a happening music scene?

  11. Yay!
    Thanks for mention me, I really appreciate it and I would pay the first round.
    When I started blogging everybody would refer to me as Doggy’s mom, or as her/she, so you are not alone there.

  12. Ericka Clay says:

    “Open-heart hilarity.” I think Ive found new tag line! 🙂 Thank you so much for the award and congrats to you on receiving it. I always appreciate your writing, and I’m glad you enjoy my little space of the Internet, too.

  13. Pingback: Another Trophy for the Shelf | Stuph Blog

  14. I can’t throw properly – can I be in the gang too? Fab blog by the way.

  15. Kathryn G says:

    A delayed response is better than no response at all. Thanks so much for this. Lovin’ the love and sending some love right back.

    And the #6 on your list! I’m reading Nick Hornby’s A Long Way Down now. I’m loving it.

Go ahead, don't be shy.

