Gettin’ all politcal on y’all

Yeah, okay, me no try to be street no more. It was just rubbing off from my Quebec government’s attempts to get down with the young kids yo by financing a hip-hoppity song and video to encourage the province’s English minority to feel all okey-dokey-smokey.

Here’s what the Quebec Minister in charge of the English community (yay! we have our own minister!!!) Jean-François Lisée had to say at the press conference announcing the song, “Notre Home.”

“You are Quebecers. Stop doubting. Stop asking permission to be Quebecers. Stop thinking that it’s in the eye of the other that defines you as a Quebecer or not. You are Quebecers. Get over it. And tell others to get over it.”

This is the guy who was the mastermind behind a survey that “prooved” that Quebec anglos speak too much English and, worse, aren’t doing their bit to embrace French. And this is from a government that would like to make it tougher for non-anglophones to attend English schools and colleges, remove long-held bilingual statuses of some communities, has forbidden a small town to publish its newsletter in English and generally would like to see the English community up and skeddadle. Not to mention the longstanding restrictions on the public use of English.

“Get over it?” That’s like someone punching you in the face and then telling you not to be such a baby.

But I’m a good nouveaux-Quebecer, so follow the link if you’d like to hear my attempts at a public service announcement to help my fellow anglos feel all squishy (originally aired on CBC Radio’s “Breakaway”).

Oh, and I rap in it! Word!

breakaway

More reading on this topic from The Montreal Gazette’s Don MacPherson.

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Canada and/or Quebec, Turn that radio on! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gettin’ all politcal on y’all

  1. Loved the video and enjoyed your PSA attempts. I’ve spent the last 15 minutes learning more about Quebec than I have in the entirety of my life. I know how to spend my time wisely.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      The crazy thing is I’m not even from here! Talk about learning the hard way.

      Thanks for sticking with it. I hope your brain doesn’t hurt too much.

      • It’s actually pretty interesting, especially considering how pissy people get in our country when Spanish is spoken here. Being a linguist in a former life, I am fascinated not only by the history, but by the sense of identity people attach to it.

        • rossmurray1 says:

          The difference between Spanish in the U.S. and French in Canada is that French is essentially confined to a single geographical area (albeit a vast one), with pockets of French communities in Ontario, Manitoba and Atlantic Canada. Consequently, most English Canadians (outside Quebec) don’t get too pissy about French because it’s not an issue, providing them with that false sense of tolerance that Canadians like to pretend they have.

          I could go on…

        • rossmurray1 says:

          P.S. I love Canada and love living in Quebec.

          We are a conflicted people, non?

  2. The Hook says:

    Regardless of your choice of writing voice, your blog rocks!

Go ahead, don't be shy.

