Books read: March 2012 – March 2013

  • Birds of America – Lorrie Moore
  • The Leftovers – Tom Perretta
  • Mr. Fox – Helen Oyeyemi
  • In Persuasion Nation – George Saunders
  • Diary of a Bad Year – J.M. Coetzee
  • So Long and Thanks for All the Fish – Douglas Adams
  • 2030 – Albert Brooks (unfinished)
  • The Sense of an Ending – Julian Barnes
  • The Guinea Pig Diaries – A.J. Jacobs
  • The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles – Haruki Murikami
  • Let the Great World Spin – Colum McCann
  • 101 Places Not to See Before You Die – Catherine Price
  • Mostly Harmless – Douglas Adams
  • The Dirt on Clean – Katherine Ashenburg (ongoing)
  • Zombie Spaceship Wasteland – Patton Oswalt
  • The Sportswriter – Richard Ford
  • Half a Life – V.S. Naipaul
  • Zeitoun – Dave Eggers
  • The Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
  • Who Will Run the Frog Hospital? – Lorrie Moore
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – Rebecca Skloot
  • Some We Love, Some We Hate, Some We Eat – Hal Herzog
  • The Anthologist – Nicholson Baker
  • Freedom – Jonathan Franzen
  • The Loved Ones – Evelyn Waugh
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer
  • They Eat Puppies, Don’t They – Christopher Buckley
  • More Baths, Less Talking – Nick Hornby
  • Who I Am – Pete Townshend
  • The Hamster Won’t Die – Whitney Collins
  • The Age of Miracles – Karen Thompson Walker
  • Suburgatory – Linda Erin Keenan (unfinished)
  • A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again – David Foster Wallace
  • Sweet Tooth – Ian McEwen
  • A Box of Matches – Nicholson Baker
  • Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
  • The Light of Amsterdam – David Park
  • Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World – Haruki Murakami
  • Fever Pitch – Nick Hornby
  • Lionel Asbo: State of England – Martin Amis
  • Ru – Kim Thuy
  • Telegraph Avenue – Michael Chabon (current)
About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Reading? Ugh! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Books read: March 2012 – March 2013

  1. byebyebeer says:

    That’s a lot of books! Great list…always looking for new reads. I love Lorrie Moore and tried reading Birds of America, but I think the problem was she had too much competition on my bedside table at the time. I’ll be bookmarking this post. Thanks!

  2. El Guapo says:

    I have absolutely no idea what I’ve read in the last year…

  3. Lisa Neumann says:

    I almost didn’t comment, but then I saw the “Go ahead, don’t be shy,” and thought what the heck.
    Official post comment: DAMN, I’m impressed and inspired.

  4. tgeorges1123 says:

    We read The Leftovers for WNDBC (Wednesday Night Drunk Book Club + 10 people via video Google Chat + Drinks = best book club ever). Liked The Leftovers, didn’t like Freedom, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, excellent, and was the Douglas Adams read a re-read or a first time read? Have you read the Dirk Gentley books?

  5. djmatticus says:

    That’s quite an impressive list! The two Hitchhiker books and the Heart of Darkness are the only ones I’m familiar with… I’ve got a lot of reading to do! I didn’t read anywhere near that many books in the last year. The only ones I can think of off the top of the my head are the three hunger games books, and the newest George RR Martin contribution. Eek, that’s pretty pathetic. Hmm, I may have read a Tarzan book or two while flying random places… And I read a whole bunch of NaNoWriMo submissions too. Do those count? Need to do much better this year! (I’m currently reading the first in the Dark Tower series, so that’s at least 7 I should get through this year.)

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Reading is reading. Everything’s good. What we do right here is good. I don’t believe that one type of reading or more reading is better. This list is actually posted pre-emptively for reasons that are too boring to explain, but come back tomorrow for more on this subject.

      And thanks for the follow!

  6. Is “Half a Life” a good read? I have it on my shelf but I never get to it.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      I liked a lot of it but it literally just ends, which is I guess what you can expect with half a life. I read it while travelling this past summer, so it never got the full attention it deserved. Naipaul is in fine form in terms of craft, though. I’m told that having read his other works will help this resonate more. Pretty vague answer, I know, but it left me feeling vague.

  7. Pingback: Can I review it ’til I need glasses? | Drinking Tips for Teens

  8. breezyk says:

    I almost picked up Telegraph Avenue the other day but it looks SO LONG. Did you read the Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Klay? I also want to pick that up, but again.. SO LONG

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Telegraph Avenue is like reading jazz — in a good way. I love his language. It doesn’t feel long, though it’s taking me a while because I have a lot else going on right now. Haven’t read K&K. Will check it out.

  9. Pingback: A year in books and stuff | Drinking Tips for Teens

Go ahead, don't be shy.

