The e-thrill is gone

If you’re my age, first of all I’m sorry. Secondly, you probably remember how excited we all got when faxes first came out. Imagine: you could send letters… over the phone! It was as though technology, in some kind of Trekkian leap, had figured out a way to disintegrate paper and ink molecules and transmit them over the lines to be reconstituted at the other end into really crappy, shiny paper.

Or maybe your understanding of how this worked was way more advanced than mine.

But then there was email! If faxes were amazing, emails were jaw-droppingly… well, they were just totally rad.

So here we are, 20 or so years later. What do you think about email now? Yeah, I thought so.

Here’s my latest radio piece on the demise of email. It originally aired on CBC Radio’s “Breakaway” on March 26, 2013. It’s three-and-a-half minutes long; do you have the attention span to make it all the way through? Yeah, I thought so.

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Turn that radio on! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to The e-thrill is gone

  1. denmother says:

    I don’t even have the attention span to click on the link 🙂
    Kidding! Looking forward to hearing it when I get my hands on a computer (mine just died in an alcohol induced haze).

  2. Email for me is what voice mail was when you knew someone wasn’t at home. You get credit for making contact, but you don’t actually have to talk to someone. Audio links are even more delightfully passive. I love the pause option in case my attention wanders. It will only take a couple of hours to hear your whole link.

  3. Wow – your voice…
    I used to have my email scream: “HELP! HELP! I’m being repressed”

    I still love email – I love writing letters – it’s my favorite form of communication. I hate the phone.

  4. Haha, that’s hilarious. Love your voice. I always sound like I’m six on recordings. “Now you can instantly communicate and people not know you are drunk!” I was laughing all the way through. I LOVE the people who say email has gone the way of “snail mail” when I can quite remember getting letters and loving it and I’m in my 30s, not 100, thanks! I work in a university, so I’d often like to take our new forms of communication and cram it up their noses.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      I had a small group of friends who were loyal letter writers after we left university. I mean, guys writing to guys, even! I still have a lot of those letters. How much care and thought we put into them because they were permanent, they were out there. I can’t remember the last hand-written letter I wrote. I hate nostalgia; makes me feel old!

  5. Holy fuck!!! The sound of the dial up and the “you’ve got mail” are making me crack up. Uh, but you don’t sound Canadian at all. You didn’t say eh or talk about hockey at all.

  6. List of X says:

    I’ve used E-mail a lot, and still prefer it, but I thought it said “You got mail” only in the movies.

  7. Katie says:

    I admire you, because whenever I hear my voice played back at me, I spiral into a depression that “phone sex operator” will never be a viable career option if my chosen path doesn’t pan out. I’ve had to re-embrace email for work, but generally, I avoid emails like the plague.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      I still hate my voice but have gotten used to hating it. Or at very least I’ve gotten over the shock. Is phone sex still a thing? I bet that’s a dead technology too.

  8. The Hook says:

    You’ve conquered the world of radio now?
    Good for you! The sky’s the limit!\
    Great piece by the way…

  9. MissFourEyes says:

    Haha! You had me laughing all the way through.
    “Mail Mail Maiiiiiil!” Maybe we should start sending more telegraphs.

  10. Pingback: Oversharing and Blogging: The Thin Blabby Line | The Green Study

  11. rarasaur says:

    I loved this. Though for me, old school technology will always have a place in my heart. Emails. Faxes. The Post Office. I am flexible, though, and change with the times… so right now, I’m sending you a blimp, from my brain to yours. *buzzzz* (Mail beeps, blimps buzz… right?)

  12. Pingback: Email anxiety | Drinking Tips for Teens

Go ahead, don't be shy.

