Well, book me!

Do you know why I think books are going to be okay for at least a little while longer? Because there are few things more exciting than saying out loud, “I have a book coming out!” Yelling, “I’ve gone viral!” — not quite the same thing. Or maybe I’m just old.

So call me old, I don’t care, because I have a book coming out!

coverfinal02

Don’t worry, it gets funnier on the inside.

It’s a collection of some of my best humour columns and CBC Radio pieces, ranging from domestic slices of life to satire to plain silliness to — look, if you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you know what you’re getting into.

A small publisher out of Quebec City, Blue Ice Books, has taken on this project, and by small I mean I’m their first venture. But they were great supporters of my first collection when it came out three years ago, so I’m quite happy to be working with them. It sure beats doing the work myself. #lazywriter

We have a launch planned for Quebec City, May 8. If it’s any incitement for you to make the trip, I believe there will be sandwiches. French-Canadian sandwiches! We’ll have a second launch in the Eastern Townships on May 11 at the stunning, border-straddling Haskell Free Library. I believe there will be Border Patrol. Unfriendly U.S. Border Patrol!

Now I have to promote this bad boy. This is the part where I have to get over the modesty. Ah, who am I kidding; I have to get over the false-modesty. For example, I am beyond tickled to have this blurb from poet/author/humorist Sheree Fitch. If you don’t know Sheree’s works and if you have kids, you owe it to the world to read her poems out loud to them. But enough about her; back to me:

“Every once in a while, you happen upon a writer you never knew before but know you’ll never forget. I was lucky to meet Ross Murray. He’s brilliant, funny, wise and loves his community. He’s not afraid to say where he stands and not afraid to play – even dazzle us – with his language. Think Cirque du Soleil, Murray as one of Quebec’s linguistic acrobatic journalists.”
– Sheree Fitch, author of Kiss the Joy as it Flies

Holy blurbicious! Right? RIGHT???

Don’t Everyone Jump at Once will be up on Amazon but for now it’s available for pre-order through Blue Ice.

And, oh yes, one last thing: I HAVE A BOOK COMING OUT!

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Reading? Ugh! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Well, book me!

  1. The Waiting says:

    Wait, like a book you can hold in your hands? You mean there are things that can be read other than tweets? WHAT IS THIS TECHNOLOGY? I will read it. I mean, if it has letters and words. I assume that’s what’s on the inside. 😉

  2. All kidding aside, congratulations! Canadian or not, that’s great! I promise to purchase a copy someday when it’s very cheap to be my go to bathroom reader.

  3. Mooselicker says:

    Congrats to you! I’m going to start the process of contacting all those agents and other evil people to get a “real” book out there. Then when they tell me I’m no good I’ll toss it up through self-publishing. You’re like my hero now for actually doing it. I already feel my self-worth devaluing.

    Is there any theme or is it general life stories? I hope that’s not you on the cover and it’s just some random guy who is going to freak out if he sees it.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      The publisher is someone who sees an opportunity and believes in the product, and he believes in the product because I’ve been working at this for many years, plugging away and building a reputation in Quebec’s English community. Even though this is a small, small publisher, it’s nonetheless validating, you bet.
      It’s a grab bag of humour, real life to complete nuttiness, helpfully broken into sections so the diversity isn’t too disconcerting.
      No, that’s me in a classroom at the school where I work. Your idea, though, sounds better.
      By the way, I’ve been reading your “Silence” and am enjoying it so far.

  4. Lily says:

    How much did you pay that guy for his blurb? Hah jk jk. That’s amazing! Congrats on being super accomplished! I would love to go to Quebec City on May 8th but I’ll be in sunny Florida. But I will be thinking about the sandwiches I’m missing out on the whole time I’m on vacation.
    Congrats again! Maybe I’ll review your book in one of my Lily’s Literature posts. But I guess that means I would have to read it…. 😉

  5. javaj240 says:

    I couldn’t be happier for you. I mean, certainly I’d be happier if it were me being fêted with sandwiches while discussing MY new book, but if it can’t be me, I’m glad it’s you. You’ve certainly been at this tomfoolery far longer than I have! You deserve to be published, that’s for sure! Whether or not you deserve the sandwiches is another matter entirely and one that, no doubt, should be left up to the fine gals of The Ladies’ Auxiliary.

    Rather than taking the thirty-seven hour drive (No, I do not drive ten MILES an hour, I just make frequent and, often, sudden stops!), if it’s all the same to you, I’ll just make myself a sandwich, something difficult, like an egg salad, on May 8th and I’ll think about you while I’m eating it. I’ll even put on some pants with a waistband whilst ingesting what I imagine will be a far superior sandwich to that which you will be enjoying. No disrespect to The Ladies’ Auxiliary intended, but every little schoolboy knows that any sandwich made and eaten in New Jersey will be a better sandwich than any Canadian could ever hope to aspire to slapping together. That’s just the way it Is. It’s what we’re known for. Well, that, Taylor ham, and being confused with New York.

    In all seriousness, you have my hearty congratulations! I will absolutely be buying the book! I wish you much and continued success! 🙂

    ~ Jackie

  6. OH ROSEMARY!!!! Congratulations and I cannot wait to ORDER IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Will they be quoting me on the back that I said you were snort-a-licious and that you like a special channel?

    My 1st Canadian friend, is about to have his book published too! It’s publish a book for a Canadian year!

    When I get it – if I ship it to you will you sign it?

    • rossmurray1 says:

      That seems crazy. I should be able to manage signing it beforehand. When the order’s in, send me an email or something and I’ll make sure it gets to the publisher to put in the “VIP” pile or something. ross_murray@sympatico.ca.
      Need Amazon reviewers too, if you’re interested.
      Oh, and thank you very much!

      • I’ll probably order it via Amazon (I have a membership free shipping!!) – so would it work out that way?
        I would be more than DELIGHTED to let everyone know how much I love & admire your funny. You’re like a Canadian Erma Bomback but with less boobage.

  7. YES! There is nothing quite like that feeling, is there? Mazel tov, and I’ll look forward to reading the book.

  8. Wow, a book! That’s exciting and full of awesomeness! One day I hope to produce a book that is worthy of being published.

  9. Congrats!! Books 4ever.

  10. Will the Canadian sandwiches be free?
    Congrats!

  11. calahan says:

    This is fantastic, man. Congrats!

  12. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Heya, Clicked on you from the Liebster you gave that DenMother, miladies awesome. Was curious about the title of your blog. Of course, this didn’t answer any curiosities about it HOWEVER congrats on your book 🙂 And I do verily agree that books will be okay a while longer for that very screaming reason.

    Love ‘blurbulicious’ 🙂

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Thank you very much, and welcome. Have a look around. As I mention in my About page, the blog is named after what I think would be the perfect title for a piece I have yet been able to successfully write. In other words, this is a place to visit for terrible advice.

  13. Amanda Fox says:

    OMG Mabel Murple! That’s so fantastic. I say book tour stop in Ottawa, because where else would you be promoting this quintessentially rockin’ Canadian book? OK, besides in Quebec City LOL. Then we can finally trade sarcasms in person. Great news, Ross. Really great news. Couldn’t happen to a nicer or more deserving person. 🙂

  14. Ned's Blog says:

    That’s fantastic, Ross. The world needs as much of the funny stuff as it can get. And the fact that your funny stuff has nothing to do with something viral makes it all the better. Seriously happy and excited for you, and for the world at large 🙂

  15. Pingback: Show ‘em a little sugar | Drinking Tips for Teens

Go ahead, don't be shy.

