Show ’em a little sugar

Quickly, quickly now, a quick post during a hectic period that included hosting, this past weekend, a gala in the small village of Bulwer, Quebec, in which I dressed in top hat and tails and celebrated terrible opening lines. Literary lines, that is, not pick-up lines. But more on that later.

A few weeks back, I wrote about maple syrup making, and some of you have been having fun with us Canadians and our syrup-loving ways. Well, just to show you how deep this love goes, especially here in southern Quebec, I encourage you to visit The Sugar Shack Sessions — five fine musicians living and performing in the Eastern Townships, each of them creating a video shot at different sugar shacks in the region.

Vote for your favourite (quick, quickly now, deadline ends at midnight!). The winner receives (of course) a gift basket of maple products and bragging rights. That’s how we roll in the Townships, baby!

By the way, one of the artists, Sarah Biggs, will be playing at my book launch on Saturday, May 11 in Stanstead. She’s wonderful. Not too many people can sing the phrase “Third World War” and make it sound so joyous.

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Canada and/or Quebec, It Really Did Happen! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Show ’em a little sugar

  1. Ned's Blog says:

    Great news all around, Ross! I wish I could be there for May 11, but will be there in spirit. Oh, and I have no problem with your syrup-drinking ways.

  2. javaj240 says:

    Lovely.

  3. breezyk says:

    I think I speak for everyone when I say we would like some photo evidence of said top hat and tails appearance, please.

Go ahead, don't be shy.

