Publish + publicity = publishity. No wait, that doesn’t sound right…

In preparation for the release of my new book (See it over there on the right? Isn’t it pretty? Don’t you just want to click it?), I’ve been swept up in the publicity machinery. In this case, the machinery is one of those wind-up baby chicks you get around Easter that are undeniably adorable but hold your attention for only the scantest time. Let’s just say it doesn’t take much for me to be swept up.

So far I’ve done one interview to promote the book, and the interviewer was a friend of mine, so it was really more of a conversation than a grilling. Nonetheless, after the interview, having talked about myself for an hour, I felt all covered in douchiness. Not only did I feel like a fraud but I felt I hadn’t even done a good job articulating my fraudulence, which led to me firing off follow-up emails like, “You realize when I said ‘gastric secretions,’ I was using it as a metaphor, right?”

As you might gather, I’m somewhat conflicted about promoting myself. I find it really difficult to say outright, “Buy my book! It’s funny as hell!” — although it occurs to me that I’ve done just that right now. Well, sure, it’s easy here! None of you people are real!

So how does a chronic self-deprecator promote himself?

Enter the daughter…

IMG_9944

For my latest CBC piece I decided to interview… myself. And to help differentiate myself the interviewer from myself the interviewee, I had Abby, age 11, play the latter. And don’t be going all “Exploiter!” on me. We had a lot of fun doing it.

Have a listen below, or click over at CBC “Breakaway” where this first aired on April 23, 2013.

How adorable, right? And Abby’s not too shabby either.

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Turn that radio on! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Publish + publicity = publishity. No wait, that doesn’t sound right…

  1. Ned's Blog says:

    With my own book coming out in October, I feel like you are my unwitting scout, looking ahead and reporting back by way of carrier pigeon because you fell off a cliff. Thanks for giving me your hindsight while it’s still my foresight — which is pretty out of sight. And so was your interview 😉

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Thanks, man. October. Oof, that’s so far away! Tell me more.

    • Ned's Blog says:

      It’s called Humor at thee Speed of Life, and is a collection of some of the columns I’ve written over the last 15 years, divvied up into sections according to topic, i.e., marriage, parenting, holidays, murder (Ooops, how’d THAT get in there? *embarrassed*). I’ve been working on a larger syndication opportunity the last few months and it has finally fallen into place. About 60 papers, plus the ones that are already carrying my column. So I’m hoping to build on the readership I already have in the other papers over the next six months, then have the book come out right before Christmas — marketing the heck out of it in all the papers that carry the column. It’s a juggling act, and sometimes I feel like someone sprayed my hands with liquid butter. At least I like butter.

      • rossmurray1 says:

        Syndication! That’s stellar! Congratulations. Regarding the marketing, I hope you have help, because it can be time-consuming. I’m sure we’ll be hearing more, Mr. Butterfingers.

        • Ned's Blog says:

          Lol! Yeah, my publisher is pretty plugged in and has a social media department, plus I’m a guest blogger on a book review website, which means I’ll get at lest ONE good review! I’ll keep you posted, Ross, and hopefully meet up with you sometime.

  2. The Waiting says:

    That was perhaps the most genius thing I have ever heard.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Ha! Thanks. I originally thought of doing both voices myself and then – Pa-ZANG! — light bulb. I swear there really is a flash when you get those ideas, know what I mean?

      • The Waiting says:

        My lightbulb tends to burn out the second I screw it in. I keep putting 100-watt bulbs in when the lamp can only handle 50-watt. What can I say? I’m awesome.

        • rossmurray1 says:

          As we speak, I have one of those overhead fluorescent office lights that just keep blinking annoyingly and give off a green glow. That’s what I’m working with this evening.

  3. Bravo! What a talent – like father, like daughter. You must put Abby on the payroll and take her to all your publicity gigs. Only 11? She’s a natural. 🙂

    ps: a very clever interview technique, btw 🙂

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Thanks. She’s a peach. She has her first acting gig this summer, as one of the orphans in Annie. She’s quite excited!

      • Congratulations to Abby. Way to go, girl!

        Tried to pre-order your book from the publisher but there is no provision for overseas orders on the order form. How to I get a copy to Australia?

        • rossmurray1 says:

          I wonder if the Amazon link will work for Australia. If not, contact Andrew Greenfield, the publisher, and explain the situation. I’m sure he’ll ship to you. I’m going to contact him as well. Mustn’t miss out on the Antipodal market! (My sister lives in NZ, so with her and you, I consider this a market.) Here’s Andrew: info@lifeinquebec.com

  4. MissFourEyes says:

    Her cuteness alone will promote your book 🙂

  5. Amanda Fox says:

    Buy Ross’ book. He’s funny as hell. There, I said it for you.

  6. Pingback: Pop and circumstance | Drinking Tips for Teens

  7. It’s not exploitation. It’s family fun. 😉

Go ahead, don't be shy.

