Congratulations, it’s a book!

Hello, friends.

And you are friends, even though we’ve never met. How can I prove this? Because friends look out for each other, get excited about each other’s good fortune, support and encourage each other, even go out of their way for each other.

No, I’m not talking about every reader of this blog purchasing my new book. That would be nice, of course, but friends who pressure friends to do that are dick-friends. Don’t be a dick-friend, kids!

What I’m talking about is the many lovely, wonderful, encouraging, gut-busting comments so many of you have left here over the past several weeks leading up to the publication of my new collection, which is off the press and in the publisher’s hands today!

But then — but THEN! — there are a couple of women who went above and beyond, who answered my shot-in-the-dark request: “Hey Denise. Hey Mandy. How would you feel about writing an advance review of my book for Amazon?” Did they jump? They jumped! They are quite lithe, those two. And they turned in sweet, blush-inducing words. I wanted to wait until this thing was real before publicly thanking them. So thank you both, so much.

I love all you guys. I love this place. It’s a good day.

Gotta go before I start leaking on the keyboard.

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in It Really Did Happen!, Reading? Ugh! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Congratulations, it’s a book!

  1. Congratulations to you! Ironically, I just posted about my book being published today, Red Circle Days. My “friend” it’s a definite red circle day for us both then!

  2. It was so my pleasure, Rosemary! I have much love for all of these WP people too – including you!

  3. Katie says:

    Congratulations! I will most definitely be checking it out.

  4. Is this book something that is really only appealling to Canadians? Or somebody who has visited Canada? Because I’m not and I’ve never visited. I do, however, enjoy syrup on my pancakes and waffles. But, I think it comes from Vermont.

  5. So excited for you! I haven’t bought a new book in a long time… maybe it’s time.

  6. Slow down – I’m just starting on the first one, dammit. Congrats, though!

  7. calahan says:

    Dude, this is so cool that you have this out. I’m really excited for you!
    I especially look forward to reading the dedication where you publicly discuss how influential I have been on your life. I get teary-eyed just thinking about it.

  8. peachyteachy says:

    As they say, woot. The cover photo reminds me so much of my beloved high school chem/trig teacher. So cool!

  9. javaj240 says:

    Awesome! I cannot wait to read it!

  10. javaj240 says:

    Okay…I just ordered it — It was pretty nerve wracking — for a minute I thought I would need to obtain actual Canadian Dollars! Thank God Amazon was able to do the calculations for me (math is NOT my strong suit!)

  11. I haven’t been around here as often or long enough to have known you were publishing a book, but congrats all the same!

  12. WOW! I knew I had good taste in bloggers and his was just the proof I needed. 😉
    Congratulations to you, Ross. Well done.
    Lisa

  13. …almost forgot, I’ll definitely be ordering my copy today!

  14. Congratulations, Ross! I will be reading.
    Oh, all you have to do is paste the video link, no code needed. It will automatically embed, if it’s embeddable (some aren’t). Not sure embeddable is a word, but it is now! Congrats again!

  15. josefkul says:

    Congrats! Second book no less! I’ll have to order it on my kindle!

  16. Watch your back, Nick Hornby!!

  17. Nic says:

    This is awesome – I’m getting myself a copy! What else can I do to support? Maybe I’ll get like, 5, and lightly toss them in the faces of random people on trains. Or something? Or maybe I’ll just write an absurdly positive review on Amazon before I actually read it and just cross my fingers that it ends up being on point, IDK. Either way, congrats to one of my favorite blogger-writer-authors!

    • rossmurray1 says:

      That comment alone was all I need. Thank you, sir. Anything else is poutine gravy. However, if you do start flinging books around, I want photos or at least access to the surveillance footage. How’s your writing going?

  18. Letizia says:

    Congratulations!!!! I can’t wait to read it!!

  19. bcsrugby12 says:

    Congrats Ross!! I look forward to reading it 🙂

    Adam

  20. Pingback: Two Years | Mooselicker

  21. Kylie says:

    Wow!!! Look what I missed by ignoring WordPress. Congratulations 🙂

Go ahead, don't be shy.

