I am not a terrorist. Just saying…

If we’ve learned one thing, it’s that you can never be too careful. If we’ve learned two things, it’s that anyone can be a terrorist. If we’ve learned three things, I’d be very surprised.

This past Monday, Canadians woke up to news that two men living in Toronto and Montreal were plotting an attack on a VIA Rail train. From this we can conclude that there are Al-Qaeda cells operating in Canada and that Canadians sleep in way late, because this news was announced at 3:30 in the afternoon. No wonder Canadian productivity is so low. Get out of bed, Canadians!

What’s shocking is that these alleged terrorists were hiding in plain sight, which is a way of saying that they weren’t very good at hiding at all. So why not just say that? I don’t know, I like clichés. Leave me alone!

One of the suspects posted the black flag of radical Islam as his profile photo, which is a bit of a giveaway. Black flag = red flag. Choose the cute kitten picture for your Facebook profile, terrorists, always the cute kitten!

Does this look like a terrorist to you?

Does this look like a terrorist to you?

Furthermore, the suspects were witnessed watching trains and rail yards. This is highly suspicious and unusual behaviour because it is really, really, really dull. Who does that? Terrorists and senior citizens, that’s who, and neither group can be fully trusted.

One of the suspects also set himself apart by being an annoying, obstinate, loudmouthed post-graduate student. Actually, scratch that. That doesn’t set him apart at all.

The Canadian terrorist plot is a bit of a black eye for Canada, whose reputation for producing terror has never fully recovered from the release of Nickelback’s Dark Horse in 2008.

The Canadian arrests come just a week after the Boston Marathon bombings, which were perpetrated by two brothers, one a U.S. citizen, the other a legal resident. This means that terrorists are among us. This means we must be ever vigilant. This means we can expect further tinkering of our civil liberties in the name of public security. Way to ruin it for the rest of us, terrorists!

It also means you are a potential terrorist until you prove otherwise.

Terrifying? Yes. Terrorist? Doubtful.

Terrifying? Yes. Terrorist? Doubtful.

So, before I get picked up and subjected to harsh Nickelback-based interrogation methods, I’d like to clear the air about any terrorist-related allegations that might be made against me.

Contrary to what you may have heard (through the wiretap), I have never said, “I like radical Muslims.” What I said was “I look radical in muslin.” This was the time I dressed up as Marie Antoinette for a midnight screening of Les Miserables. The midnight screening turned out to be The Expendables 2, but that’s an uncomfortable story for another time.

The only plot I’ve ever devised is one for a proposed television pilot about a manservant by day, hair stylist by night. It was called “The Butler Dyed It.” Like the Canadian terrorist plot, it poses no imminent threat of ever occurring.

Please note that I said I liked small wire-haired dogs. That makes me a “terrierist.” Not the same thing.

And so what if I grew a beard? That doesn’t mean I’ve embraced Islam. It means I’m dead sexy. It also means that certain members of the audience at The Expendables 2 were confused about who I was dressed up as. I did get a few phone numbers, though, so that’s something.

It’s true that I have levelled criticism at our government in the past and that I imagine there’s a sense of glee among the fear-mongering Harper crowd now that Canada’s allowed to eat at the big-boy terrorist table. But criticism is still allowed, right? Yes? Hello-o-o-o…?

Finally, I’m grateful to live in a diverse, multicultural country where it’s safe for people of all backgrounds, religions and races to work and raise their families, where news of bungling terrorists doesn’t send everyone into a media-fed panic, and where people still have the freedom to make jokes of questionable taste.

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Canada and/or Quebec, It Could Happen... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to I am not a terrorist. Just saying…

  1. Amanda Fox says:

    Ask and you shall receive. Thanks Ross! Love it. 🙂

  2. breezyk says:

    I wish I looked radical in muslin.

  3. Lol…Nickelback. You Canadians always fail to mention Bryan Adams too. The beard I suspicious though. Very suspicious.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Bryan Adams is far too bland to be offensive, certainly not on a Celine Dion level.
      I drove from Quebec to BC last summer and it was Bryan Adams from the Great Lakes onward. That and Billy Idol (?). But you know what? “Run To You” is actually a pretty good song.

      Are you indoctrinated yet?

  4. denmother says:

    All the RCMP ever had to do was give the terrorists the “aboot” and “beet” test to figure out true Canadian alliance. And we’re paying their salaries? Geez.

  5. Was this the look you were sporting the screening night?

  6. I have some Made in the USA media frenzy to send your way. Can’t you at least look a little more suspicious?

  7. josefkul says:

    I hear ‘terrierists’ like to frequent large, well populated venues like the Westminster Dog Show? At least, I’ve heard this, because I am a cat person. Cat people aren’t terrorists/terrierists.

  8. The FBI has your number, Rosemary.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      It should be a joke but it’s probably true!

      • I took a humanities Literature of Totalitarian class in high school (it was the most fascinating class I ever had in high school, taught by a great teacher) – and she warned us that we probably had a ‘file’ on us because of it. I wouldn’t doubt it – I’m pretty tricky.

        • rossmurray1 says:

          That’s probably the most thrilling thing a high school teacher could ever say. Anarchist/hippie type?

          • Nope – she was older than the hills, though. She taught comparative religions (complete with a zen garden in the classroom), lit of tot – for which she put up these HUGE black and white photos of people in concentration camps during the war in Germany (we also learned about Russia) – the point of that class was to think about how both Russia and Germany came to a totalitarian regime – learn about each country’s history and realize that it didn’t happen in a vacuum etc… it was very powerful. She wrote a book about Russia called Utopia or Hell – she was the kind of teacher that wanted you to think and question not just listen and write notes.

  9. “Please note that I said I liked small wire-haired dogs” – I don’t believe you. I think you just said that for the laugh that followed. Cat-shover.

  10. Canadians can sleep soundly and without fear because of our world famous CSIS who keeps us safe from all terrorist plots. BTW they’re hiring surviellants. It’s probably a very sexy spy job where you wear expensive designer clothes and drink Martinis.

  11. Ned's Blog says:

    We must go see Expendables 3 together when it comes out. I’ll dress up as Chewbacca.

  12. I'm batman says:

    Thank JesusMaryMosesMurray I read this just as I was changing my profile picture to a sweet, innocent Cougar. (merely an experience kitten).

  13. List of X says:

    What you may not realize about your picture, is that simply reducing the brightness on one’s monitor can make your picture appear looking more and more like a photo of a terrorist.

  14. pinklightsabre says:

    I see nothing questionable about your taste! It’s imbiblical!

Go ahead, don't be shy.

