Masters of Trivia

Yes! And yes again!

The Writers' Block Wall

IImaget’s June 2nd. A week ago, there was snow on the ground. This morning, a hot summer breeze is blowing through the open window and most of my flowers have survived last week’s flashback to winter. I’m hoping that they will have outlasted yesterday’s temperature of 31° Celsius too. I should look up to see if it’s a record. Hang on…Yes, the highest temperature in Sherbrooke was 27° in 2005. The only way that I was able to supply you with that fact was that I was sitting at my computer typing this and bothered to look it up. 

Most young people would have whipped out their cell phones to look up a questionable fact regardless of the situation. The other night, I was at a party and there must have been at least three things that I wanted to look up, but felt that it might be rude…

View original post 469 more words

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Reading? Ugh!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Masters of Trivia

  1. Ned's Blog says:

    Man, this is so true. Seriously, I’ve noticed how my three younger kids who were born into an ipod/ipad/iphone world have a hard time getting their brains to relax. We don’t have cabe TV or an X-box at home, but they do have some electronic devices that we have a strict cut-off time with, as well as a “charging station” in the kitchen which is really just a way to make sure they aren’t on their devices after bed. In spite of that, they are somewhat edgy a lot of the time; they look how I feel when I’m on a deadline. I honestly believe our brains haven’t caught up to the technology we’re using, and our kids’ brains are in overload. Oh, and my three youngest are all going through puberty right now, and my youngest daughter just started her “lady time” this weekend. Talk about overload…

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Hoo boy! You have a full house of fun. We got cable this past January for the first time in over 20 years and I regret the constant noise of the TV on. And while they’re watching, they’re texting and FBing. It’s got to be rewiring their brains somehow. For the better? I know I have a harder and harder time focusing on one thing. From a writer’s perspective, technological OCD is a procrastination nightmare.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        Ha! I have witnessed the multi-tasking, multi-social media phenom as well. I know, eventually, evolution and technology will come into sync, just like with electricity and the car. I also believe we will eventually lose our index finger in exchange for another thumb for texting and video games. Unless we grow a Blue Tooth out of our central nervous system…

Go ahead, don't be shy.

