A fear-free Halloween tale

Boo! No? Too early? Too scary, then. It’s okay, I understand. These are scary times, so I have to ask myself, “Self, do we really need to be more scared at Halloween? Aren’t my pants already sufficiently soiled by day-to-day living?” But self never answers back. Bastard.

That thought and a love of public-domain sound effects (thank you, freesound.org) prompted this audio piece that aired on CBC Breakaway earlier this week. Spoiler: there be banjos.

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Turn that radio on! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A fear-free Halloween tale

  1. Since there is no way I could possibly do justice to all of the grins and giggles, I shall simply say, bravo. Oh. And thanks for the link for sound effects. I can use it for my school project. I have to prepare a movie. Now, THAT’S scary.

  2. pinklightsabre says:

    Perfect choice with The Fleet Foxes. I’m going to play this for visiting company later tonight, and amplify it. Brill!

    • rossmurray1 says:

      Glad you liked. The tipping point for me (and is included in one of the soundbits here) was this song by Adam Cohen, who is Leonard’s son, getting airplay up hear in the north (i.e. on CBC). I was like, “Oh come on!”

  3. Mumford-ized. That’s an unfortunate kernel of truth. Very enjoyable listen, Ross!

  4. ksbeth says:

    fantastic, ross )

  5. Elyse says:

    I’m afraid that … oh wait, I’m not!

Go ahead, don't be shy.

