Up front about up front

WordPress time travel. That’s what happened when I hit “publish” this morning and all of a sudden I see that my post appears to have been published two days ago which means it didn’t turn up in Reader in the present so I edited the time stamp on the thingy-widget-amacallit for the current time and that put the post in the Reader all right but then anyone who gets notices in their email (Hi Bill) was getting a “file not founded in common sense” message when they clicked the link because today’s past post was now in the present, you see, so I’m reblogging here for everyone that happened to.
For everyone else: Hi, how’s it going?

Drinking Tips for Teens

kenThere are times when you sit back as a parent and realize, “I’m discussing the scrotum with my 13-year-old. And it isn’t that bad.”

Abby and I were doing Science homework and had reproduction, in all its sexual and asexual glory, spread across the kitchen table. We had reached puberty. Abby’s assignment was to list the associated physical changes (for boys and for girls) and the psychological changes (for both hormone-addled sexes). Turning to her workbook, we found the answers on the before-and-after illustrations of males and females, tastefully drawn and quite accurate.

“That’s not pretty,” said Abby, looking at the page.

“Well,” I said, “that’s what we all look like.” More or less.

Abby began jotting down the physical changes of puberty. “Hairy chest,” she wrote.

“Well, no, not necessarily,” I said.

“There’s hair on the man in the picture,” she pointed out.

“Yes, but not every man has…

View original post 621 more words

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Reading? Ugh!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Up front about up front

  1. I had exactly the same thing happen a while back with a post I did! The post appeared to have been published about 20 hours before I actually published it, and therefore was much further down the Reader than it should have been, and I did the same thing as you and changed the publish time on it so that it came back up to the top of the Reader, and then discovered that those who followed the link from email were getting a page not found! I didn’t reblog though, I just thought “Oh well!” All my usual commenters seemed to find it. One of my commenters though said that the post had appeared three times in her Reader! Since then I don’t put my post into the new post thing until I’m ready to publish – I used to sometimes put it up there and save draft versions and tinker with it on and off, and I wondered whether it had published it under one of the draft saved times, might be nothing to do with that of course, but just in case!

  2. List of X says:

    Yep. Did a little time travel (but only a few hours) with my last post myself. But it was astronomy-related, so it was kind of appropriate, I guess.

  3. Scott says:

    I hate it when that happens.

  4. Mike Booth says:

    Um, this is a bit off theme, Ross, but I need to know if I’m a Native American and I need to consult a hip Nova Scotian. I should have asked my dad this before he died, but it’s late for that. I googled him and discovered that he was born in Nova Scotia, not Ontario. People have always told me that I looked like an Indian. I googled Nova Scotia and discovered that they have their own tribe, the Mic Macs. (Yes, I know, I’m getting to it…) My surname is Sedgebear. Do you think that might come from the Mic Macs? I wouldn’t bother you, but my son is anxious to know if he’s a red man. Truth to tell, so am I. Thanks for your compassion.

    • rossmurray1 says:

      I’m not expert but that name doesn’t sound familiar. Doesn’t mean it isn’t. As an aside, growing up, it was Micmac. But these days, it goes by the native spelling Mi’kmaq. This may actually help you solve your heritage mystery.

Go ahead, don't be shy.

