We three kings go shopping

The problem with stereotypes is that sometimes they’re true. Men and shopping is a good example. When I go shopping, I cease to see individual items. Instead, everything blurs into a wall of stuff, the white noise of consumerism. And I become overwhelmed.

Christmas, then, when I have to shop, is a bit of a nightmare. And I often wonder, how did we get to this point?

I think we can blame the magi. But did those three wise guys go through the same thing? That thinking led me to this audio piece, which originally aired on CBC Radio’s “Breakaway” out of Quebec City last week.

And here’s the companion piece from last Christmas. “And the angel of the lord shone down upon them, and they were like, ‘Lo-o-o-o…!'”

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Holidays, Turn that radio on! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to We three kings go shopping

  1. This year’s holiday broadcast did not disappoint. “Goliath and Gomorrah”, “We Three Kings Disoriented” – laugh out loud excellence! I’ll be playing this again when I start feeling grinchy over the next couple of weeks. Humor is the gift that keeps on giving. Thank you!

  2. Tez says:

    Moreover, Ross’s glory all shone around. Now I will thither off to bed with a big smile on my face – ah, sweet dreams. xxxx

  3. Tez says:

    Moreover, Ross’s glory shone all around. Now I will thither off to bed with a big smile on my face – ah, sweet dreams. xxxx

  4. I suddenly find myself looking forward to my commute home. Between these and the audio slice Trent posted, it’s going to be over before I know it.

  5. ksbeth says:

    hilarious! thanks for sharing and at least give us credit for one second per year of age )

  6. greentea says:

    this is gooood :’D

  7. Letizia says:

    Dolce and Gomorrah swaddling clothes! I will be giggling all day at that one!

  8. That was very clever and funny. I think you managed to hit well over 50 Biblical, mall, and pop cultural references in under four minutes, Roger Bannister would be envious.

Go ahead, don't be shy.

