Dentists: Just filling time?

I’m just back from a trip to the dentist, and I can feel my face again. Here’s a piece from two years ago on why I love my teeth-keepers.

Drinking Tips for Teens

Do you know why I don’t mind going to the dentist? For the free toothbrush? Yes, that too. Because the cute receptionist always flirts with me? I’d rather not say. I don’t mind going to the dentist because you get to take time off work, lie down in the middle of the day, be surrounded by professionals who want to make you feel and look better, and no one is ever, ever going to break it to you that you have six weeks to live. You just can’t get that kind of guarantee when you visit the doctor.

Everyone just be chillin' at the dentist.Photo/Google Images Everyone just be chillin’ at the dentist.
Photo/Google Images

Yes, there are the needles and the drilling and the whimpering, but the dentist’s office is generally quite mellow, what with the piped in music and the employees chattering away, never once betraying any dismay that their life’s work involves being knuckle deep…

View original post 567 more words

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Reading? Ugh!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dentists: Just filling time?

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Oh yes, you must be careful of the up-sell. The first dentist my husband went to when we moved to our town 14 years ago told him he needed all his teeth capped! A second opinion suggested just two were required. He hasn’t needed any others since.

    But I’m not as much a fan of dentists as you are. I love mine–she’s awesome–but I don’t like going. I always tell her she’s the nicest person I never want to see.

  2. Tez says:

    No, no, noooo, I mean N O! I’m not having anything to do with dentists. Just reading the word sets off an anxiety attack. In the 1950s, we had those damned sadistic, school dentists who pulled our teeth out with the minimum of Novocaine and told us to stop crying or else – shudder. Still, if it is as nice as you say it is I might reconsider.
    Such a well-written and funny post, even if you are writing about the dreaded dentist.

  3. So, my question is this: Where does one leave a comment in a redirected reblog? At the original site or here at the point of redirection? What’s the courtesy here? I’ve always wondered. And when you’re with a lady and approaching a revolving door, who goes first? Do you jump in front of her to get it going or is it still ‘ladies first?’

Go ahead, don't be shy.

