90s nostalgia: Ross Murray | “Regret”

Bill at Pinklightsabre put out a call for 90s nostalgia. Bill and I have chatted a bit about music over the years, so I was happy to submit this song-triggered piece and indulge in my moody side. If you haven’t read Bill’s superb, thought-provoking prose, do yourself a favour and follow his blog immediately!

William Pearse | pinklightsabre

Last week’s call for content for 90s nostalgia pieces shifts now to the band New Order, and today’s featured writer Ross Murray. Ross helped me a lot when I started on WordPress and has promoted and supported many other would-be writers, a real mensch. I enjoy his bent take on life, and I’m about to enjoy his new book, which you can also link to at the end of his story below.

Note: this series ends Saturday, and I regret I’m no longer accepting submissions.


Regret
by Ross Murray

I was working in production at a suburban Montreal newspaper named, appropriately, The Suburban. It was 1991, and our first daughter had been born that summer – not an accident, we would later say to her, but a surprise, like we’d won something. We were awfully young.

After earning my first freelance writing gigs and in a fit of self-delusion, I…

View original post 702 more words

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Reading? Ugh!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 90s nostalgia: Ross Murray | “Regret”

  1. pinklightsabre says:

    Yes! Follow me immediately, get in line! Ha!
    Thanks Ross, I like your moody side.
    Bill

  2. Really rich Ross. Loved it.

  3. That was a fun read, but I sure was hoping for more music talk. Takes me back to college when even I had a Radio show, forcing my peers to listen to all of my favorite stuff. The cure and Smiths got a lot of airtime, although I don’t really associate them with 90s music.

  4. I left my comment on his site so I’ll leave this here. Strap in.

Go ahead, don't be shy.

