The Green Study’s “Positively Happy Nice Story” Contest: 2nd Place

Thanks to Michelle at The Green Study for selecting my entry as a runner-up in her Positively Happy Nice Story Contest. I’ve been thinking of kindness lately, in my writing and my life and in the world, for that matter. A lot of that thinking was spurred by Michelle’s contest challenge. Did Michelle just make the world a wee bit better? I think she just did!

The Green Study

canstockphoto142844612nd Prize goes to Ross at Drinking Tips for Teens for “The Secret Side-Effect of Kindness”. His essay is a gentle reminder of how we impact each other with even the simplest of acts.

He was sent one Green Study Coffee Mug and an extraneous Minnesota postcard. I also made a $75 donation to the Canadian Red Cross.

The Secret Side-Effect of Kindness

By Ross Murray at Drinking Tips for Teens

I’m a big believer in balance: work-life balance, balanced diet, balance beams. There’s no cause without effect and no effect without a cause.

Consequently, I don’t expect people to be especially kind to me, because I generally feel I’ve done little to deserve it.

It’s not that I’m so filled with self-loathing and covert kitten-kicking that I think I’m unworthy of basic human decency. It’s that most of the time I feel I haven’t done anything exceptional to warrant…

View original post 783 more words

About rossmurray1

I'm Canadian so I pronounce it "Aboot." No, I don't! I don't know any Canadian who says "aboot." Damnable lies! But I do know this Canadian is all about humour (with a U) and satire. Come by. I don't bite, or as we Canadians say, "beet."
This entry was posted in Reading? Ugh!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Green Study’s “Positively Happy Nice Story” Contest: 2nd Place

  1. Thanks for a lovely post about the power of kindness. It was a joy to read!

  2. You Canadians are so positive! I had a student point out the work of Shane Koyczan and really enjoyed some of the fun ways he positively impacted strangers. Lovely!

  3. ksbeth says:

    you just can’t keep your kindness hidden, no matter what you do, ross.

Go ahead, don't be shy.

